Saturday, December 27, 2008


Leadership. The third installment of Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance series is titled, Brisingr, which means “fire.” The hero Eragon begins to deepen his understanding of the leadership that is expected of him, and throughout this novel there are leaders who are elected, or ones who prove their worthiness to lead by succeeding in passing tests to that leadership. Paolini continues to do a fine job at creating a fantasy world that capitalizes on prior heroic tales and legends. One would think that he could have wrapped up the series in these new 763 pages, but this remains a transition book, leaving fans with time to kill until the next installment. Despite new revelations and maturation, Eragon, Sephira and the Inheritance series still have a ways to go before they face Galbatorix. Given the pleasure it is to read a fresh heroic novel in a classical style, I’m willing to wait and read on until Paolini has gotten out all that he wants to write.

Rating: Three-star (Recommended)

Click here to purchase Brisingr from

No comments:

Post a Comment